Mashup Experiment

This is just an idea I’ve had percolating so I decided to run with it – it’s a slightly heavy-handed mash-up of some of Neruda’s Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair and Stabbing Westward’s “So Far Away”. I think it’s interesting to cross-compare mediums so similar and so different (and I figured, why not share it? Even if I’m not sharing my own personal writing, this was an interesting experiment for me). I’m not entirely sure it worked – “So Far Away” is a pretty different style, even if it’s about the same thing. I wonder if it would have worked better to incorporate more rock songs, and granted I used several Neruda poems. Thoughts?

The memory of you emerges from the night around me.
There were thirst and hunger, and you were the fruit.
There were grief and the ruins, and you were the miracle.

Each night I felt the distance that grew between us
Open up as lonely as the space between the stars
You heard me from far away, and my voice could not reach you;
Silence defined us.
How terrible and brief was my desire of you!

And every time that you reached out, you felt me pull away.
How you must have suffered getting accustomed to me,
my savage, solitary soul.

She loved me, sometimes I loved her too.
I no longer love her, that’s certain, but how I loved her.
I no longer love her, that’s certain, but maybe I love her.
Love is so short, forgetting is so long.

So I call out your name;
It is the hour of departure, oh deserted one! Oh, abandoned one.

Stabbing Westward song: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/stabbingwestward/sofaraway.html
Neruda poems:  Unfortunately, I can’t find the full collection online.

Leave a Reply

