Black Eyed Pea Salad

When I started this blog, I promised myself that I wouldn’t turn it into a cooking and fitness blog. My everyday life more or less revolves around both those things, and this blog is a place to explore more unique things.

But a lot of people have asked me for this and other recipes. So – I’ll share the occasional recipe if you’ll put up with my odd ramblings on science and history the rest of the time. And because I’m me, I’m going to include what I read with the meal, because I’m pretty much always reading at dinner. Deal?

I apologize for the photo quality; I was hungry, so I just grabbed my iPhone!

This is a super-simple recipe that I made up a few weeks ago – comes together in 3 minutes, it’s filling, and for some reason it reminds me of egg salad.

IMG_2800

Black Eyed Pea Salad

Reading with: 365 Thank Yous by John Kralik. This is one of those books that I reread 1 – 2 times a year and loan out to friends. Needless to say, I recommend it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup black eyed peas (canned and rinsed, or pre-cooked)
  • 1 Tbs Vegenaise (or mayonnaise if you eat it)
  • cucumber, bell pepper, pickle – 1/4 – 1/2 cup each, diced (if you want a more mellow flavor, stick with the cucumber. But I like the depth of flavor with the pickle and pepper.)
  • dash of cayenne pepper (adjust to taste)
  • dash of sea salt (adjust to taste)
  • dash of dill (adjust to taste)

Steps:

  • Mix everything together. I like to eat it on toasted tortilla.

Approx Nutrition Info:

  • 300 calories
  • 10.5 g fat
  • 38g carbs
  • 12.1g protein

IMG_2807

Leave a Reply

